Outreachy week 7 – Career goals

I have always wanted to pursue a career in tech. Data fascinates me, especially how it can be used to understand and influence human behavior. As social media companies and Big Data grow more powerful, I see more opportunities and challenges in this field.

As a pharmacist with years of experience dealing face-to-face with patients, I have gained some insights into the human experience and the factors that influence their actions. Getting into the field of data analysis seemed like a natural extension of my curiosity about human behavior.

I am a self-taught Python programmer and a data visualization enthusiast who is currently interning with Bokeh as part of my Outreachy internship. My internship involves data visualization and technical writing, and I will love to pursue a career in that direction. The field of data analysis, data visualisation, and technical writing aligns well with my long-term goals as these skills can be applied in multiple sectors, from health care to finance to social media.

After my internship ends at the end of August, I would like to secure a full-time role as a data analyst or a technical writer for a tech focused company. I have 3 months experience as a fully remote worker with this internship position. I also have good communication skills and I am proactive and work well within a professional community.

I am willing to start a new position as soon as September 1, 2023. If you would like to have a conversation about any potential job offers, you can reach me via my Twitter, LinkedIn, or Email. You can also checkout my GitHub profile for a list of some of my open-source contributions, projects and skills. I would love to hear from you and discuss how I can help your organisation or company.

Published by Isaiah Akorita

A Pharmacist with interests in a variety of subjects, especially human behaviour. I'm more curious than outraged by anything.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started